The Best.

Every now and then, my heart needs to be on the high plains. My eyes need to see miles stretching far around me, as much room for the sky as possible. It’s a big sigh of relief for my soul. And I know: I’m close to family.
20151003_123307
Ever since Pastor Ty and his wife Terri were killed toward the end of summer, my perspective has shifted a bit. How could I not want to be influenced by their example as people who loved well? So I kept thinking, during this time with some of the people I love the most in this world, “Wow. What an amazing gift.”
20151003_123456
Doing things with all my siblings as a group has not always been easy or pleasant. Oh no. We have some memories from the years after my parents separated that we can kindof laugh about now, but at the time it was just a miserable experience for everyone. I’m thankful for God’s love holding me close in those painful days.
20151003_123518
We are imperfect and rough around the edges. Our relationships have bumpy and dissatisfying moments. We all struggle with things and take one step forward, two steps back. Our hearts still hold painful scars. But as far as I am concerned: when we are together, it is the best.
20151003_170540
Enjoying some delicious drinks at Cappuccino & Company, where Jacob works! Crystal got home from a retreat, needing coffee, and we rushed over before it closed.
20151003_112036
Breakfast after our late night hanging out and laughing.20151003_002521
20151004_194547
I got to go to Joe’s youth group and see him (and Jacob, his intern!) in action. He is a gentle, wise, caring, supremely FUN and creative youth pastor. I’m proud of him. Proud of all my siblings. Yes including this one:
20151003_113713
I can count on J to fill up my phone with selfies. 🙂 I wouldn’t want it any other way!
20151003_123310b
Like I said: the best.

2 thoughts on “The Best.

Leave a Reply

