JTreat: Big Sign

Make a big statement sign with canvases - eggthoughts.wordpress.com

When dreaming up decoration ideas for the Jumping Tandem Retreat, I knew that I wanted to make some sort of huge sign. I had seen this done in various ways, like with marquee letters for a party or a neon sign on stage for a concert tour. But I wanted something easier, different, and cheaper. So I’m sharing my idea in case anyone wants to do something similar!

20150419_171327

So basically what I did was stalk all the Goodwills for used canvases. Several of them I found had tears or other damage- so I got them for a dollar. I wanted a better variety of sizes but settled for what I found.

Each canvas = one letter.

20150419_172631

I painted the canvas whatever color I wanted the letter to be. Then, freehanded the outline of each letter on kraft paper (comes in a roll) and cut it out. I used a few pieces of tape to keep it flat on the canvas, then painted over the whole thing with white.

20150416_073757

There might be a few places where the paint leaks through, but if you sort of paint outward from the paper letter, that helps. If you want you can go back with the original color and fix those spots.

20150416_080432

A picture of my pineapple pj pants, for no reason at all. 

20150416_165012

In progress. At this point I realized the colors were too dark to go with my springy color scheme and I didn’t like the lettering exactly. So I redid some of them. I used up a lot of white paint on this project!

20150419_171335

On some of the letters, I went back over them with a dry foam brush and white paint to make them look distressed and splotchy. I was going to do that for all the letters I think, but apparently I didn’t. Whatever! I was giving up on this big sign idea cause I had no idea what the room looked like and how we would use it. I liked having the canvases layered together more (I thought of using heavy wire to hold the frames together) but in the end the room had a big thumbtack strip so we hung them on those. It worked, I was happy, and it didn’t have to be perfect to be beautiful!

Make a big sign with canvases - eggthoughts.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on “JTreat: Big Sign

  1. I love your willingness to give things a shot AND for a room you hadn’t seen AND that you ended up sharing how it was done. I love all of that! YOU are a creative inspiration, Frances!

    • Heheh! I think I was a little bit brave but mostly just crazy, but it worked out! Thanks Marilyn! 🙂
      Frances

Leave a Reply

