SD

2013-10-07_09-28-31_724

This past weekend I visited my brother. I rode along with him as he did chores at the Wyoming ranch where he lives and works. I saw many a healthy, silly cow on our bumpy drive from pasture to pasture. I also saw some snow, but it was largely melted away already. It was a big blizzard for that time of year where he is, but not too extreme.

But in South Dakota it was much worse. More than I can even imagine. Instead of herds happily munching, they have tens of thousands of dead cows. With the timing and severity of the storm it was just devastating to ranchers. It makes me sick to think of what those families are going through, of digging through a heap of dead heifers to photograph ear tags, of wondering about the future.

I just wanted to share this because it hasn’t really made it on national news, and the folks there need our prayers.

For more info: read this blog post, this article, or this one, or this one.

Leave a Reply

