from the mouths of campers

Just two moments from this summer that made me smile:

1- We were gathered around the flagpole for prayer & the pledge. I was undoubtedly clutching a cup of coffee and wondering “Did I turn off the light? Did we check under the beds?” (for cabin inspection). One of the boys volunteered to close in prayer, and proceeded to thank God for “another day on planet earth” Duck Dynasty style. It was so great.

2- It’s after lights out. Somehow we’ve all got our pj’s on and brushed our teeth (probably). We’ve had silly moments, giggling fits and prayer time (not necessarily in that order), we’ve adjusted the night light situation to please everyone, we’ve killed bugs, we’ve addressed many far-ranging questions, we’ve had that last drink of water, we’ve said a ridiculous amount of good nights (campers) and be-quiet-now-I-really-do-mean-it’s (counselor).

The tossing and turning slowly fades away. I start to think, “yesss! They are falling asleep!” when one of my little gals begins to sing in the darkness… “Frances you light up my world like nobody else, the way that you flip your hair gets me overwhelmed, But when you smile at the ground it ain’t hard to tell, you don’t know, Oh oh, you don’t know you’re beautiful.”

Ah hah ha, I couldn’t hate this. Too cute.

wpid-IMG_20130712_080313.jpg

Leave a Reply

