monday gifts

image
Thankful for…
another birthday.
too much dessert.
my friends, my family.
a giant slinky.
me being healthy.
friends to share birthday week, celebrating together is much more fun.
image
that my friendship with Cherry didn’t end in jr high because of mean words.. but has lasted 19 years and counting and we speak love to each other now, she’s so encouraging to me and I’m so thankful she’s a permanent part of my life and if it takes a run on sentence to get that across then so be it. (I’m reading the book Speak Love right now, wish I could send it back in time to 8th grade me, but planning to share it with teen girls from now on. Speak Love by Annie Downs, check it out!!)
doing laundry.
listening.
holding a hand tight.
crying.
being there.
(when caregiving is not fun but rather is heartbreaking and tragic and mostly, sad.) image

being schooled in mini golf by Val… choosing to give thanks in all circumstances here. 
birthday coffee and a muffin and sitting with Skip, Val, Anna & Derek and my wonderful church.
when we agree, a breeze from Jamaica must have made it’s way to Nebraska, because for a moment it mysteriously seems like Jamaica. Just does.
losing things and that terrible feeling that you’ll never find them again.
saying 32 verses of Romans 8 at 6:20 a.m. Friday with no prompts, ahhh WOW, I’m almost sad that there are only a few more verses left.
saying one, three, twelve verses of Romans 8 at a time, when stressed or angry or can’t sleep… it really does calm down my mind.
games.
books.
basil.
image

2 thoughts on “monday gifts

  1. Frances,

    Nice to meet you. I’m hopping over from Ann’s link up to count gifts with you. So fun to hear about your childhood friendship that has lasted this long, and about hard care-giving days, and a meaningful book on kind words, and thinking about those hot winds myself from a humid Minnesota today.

    Have a great day,
    Jennifer Dougan
    http://www.jenniferdougan.com

    • Hi Jennifer! Thank you for coming over! 🙂 Glad you did. Hope you got a break from the heat/humidity today like we did! God bless, have a great week!
      ~Frances

Leave a Reply

