monday gifts

2013-01-17_17-33-19_700

thankful for… 

cold evening walks.

the smell of bread dough on my hands.

2013-01-21_09-42-35_948

grief & loss. My dear little Miss Trish died this morning, after a week of steady decline. It has been a hard week.

plenty of special moments to look back on from nearly 3 years with her.

2012-04-26_08-42-18_802b

when just being there means so much.

2013-01-20_16-00-40_864

quiet.

hugs from my fellow caregivers.

2013-01-20_15-54-20_69

Sunday afternoon naps. And a blue pillow pet dolphin.

all the wonderful, over-the-top compliments she gave me that first year I was her caregiver. They encouraged me and shaped me into a more loving person. I’m glad I wrote them all down in my planner, it’s been a blessing to go back and read through them now…

“You’re the one who cheers me up.”  

“You being here is the best thing to happen to me since the last time it happened.” 

“Whoever thought of this made a real contribution to society.” (heheh.. she was speaking of Red Mango frozen yogurt.. we would stop there after her weekly hair appointment and she loved it!)

“Your being here is like a vacation for me.” 

“You have long arms and a helpful heart.” 

“You are a breath of fresh air.” 

the privilege that is my job. It’s a special gift to serve in this way, & I don’t take it lightly.

The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. {1 Cor. 15:56-58 niv}

2 thoughts on “monday gifts

Leave a Reply

