Destination Babysitting

That is maybe a new career I should consider. Getting paid to go to glamorous locations, eat a wide variety of yummy snacks, & entertain children for a limited amount of time? It’s not so bad!

As I drove up the big hill to join Val, I spotted a dead deer floating in a pond. A feeling of foreboding came over me. The landscaping was a little nicer at the actual castle grounds.

I always judge a place by the quality of its golf carts:

So earlier in the week, Val had asked me if I wanted to go with her to “Castle Unicorn” to help babysit for her brother-in-law’s brothers wedding. Of course I said yes, it sounded like a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

Her sister was photographing the wedding and her nephew and like six other little kids were in the wedding. Our job was to help corral them and make them smile for pictures and do what they were supposed to do (sounds easy, right?). (The family was really nice and fun to be around, by the way.)

“I show you! I show you!” (“wow Caiden, look at that leaf, it’s green!”) “hmmm, maybe..” “spider! spider! exploding spider!” “soft squishie!” (meaning “I want yet another wedding mint”.) That kid is so funny.

The castle wasn’t quite what I expected… I don’t know. It was an interesting place. It did have a great view though. And a LOT of suits of armor. You could not say that it was under-decorated.

Val brought her Ipad. She is smart. And moody:

Val did most of the work I have to say. 🙂

And what did I do?? Well I did squeeze in time for multiple pictures of me posing with the suits of armor, to text to my brothers. They say “what happens at Castle Unicorn, stays at Castle Unicorn” but I don’t believe it, so I’m gonna share them with you too:

Leave a Reply

