In the Studio: canyon photo project, Compassion creativity

So I’ve been wanting to do something with a silhouette (and wow I never realized that’s how you spelled it) feel to it, and I had a free 8×10 photo coupon. This is what I came up with:

I didn’t want to make it a total black and white because it was important to be able to tell where we are, and also to see a few little details. The original picture is one of my all-time favorites of me and my brothers.

Hiking the canyons with the dog, beautiful day, great memories of a place that means a lot to us. Photo courtesy of self timer and a beat up red Blazer used as a tripod.

Here is a kinda blurry picture of where I put it on my wall above my bed. And above the shelf that I accidentally punch or knock off the wall from time to time. So, a safe place.

The “silly” pictures come the most naturally to us.. 🙂

I also acted on this inspiration and did a few fun little paintings to send to Diana, my Compassion sponsored kiddo. She has sent me several works of art so I figured I should return in kind!

StudioJRU

8 thoughts on “In the Studio: canyon photo project, Compassion creativity

  1. Love the silhouette{?}. It inspires me to start getting serious with my camera and make some magic happen:) And wow! that work of art is from your sponsored child?! She is amazingly talented!!

    • Thanks! And if anything, I would say, don’t worry about getting too serious in order for magic to happen. 😉
      haha actually, the one in the picture is by me, to send to my sponsored child!! So that might change your opinion of how talented the artist must be! But thanks anyway 😉
      ~Frances

    • Thanks! Yes, it is kindof a fun, extra way to communicate, especially since she’s pretty young and we don’t speak the same language! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! ~Frances

  2. That is such a great photo! I love just the touch of color. It really is gorgeous coloring. And it is always great to have something that holds such great memories too. Love the artwork for your sponsored kiddo. We have a boy… I wonder if he would like art?!

    • Yes, so true about the memories. That is one picture that captures a lot of them! Hmm, yes, with boys you never know! I laughed, several Sundays ago in the kids classroom, we told the story of Elijah and the prophets of Baal.. then had the kids draw pictures about it. Well all the boys drew violent, fiery, action-packed scenes… whereas every single girl drew the most intricate, beautiful, detailed stone altars that I have ever seen. 🙂

  3. What you did with the photo is so neat! A great keepsake!
    That is sure fun to be sending artwork to each other! Definitely a fun surprise to get in the mail. 🙂

Leave a Reply

