In terms a (2)5 year old can understand

So last week, I hit a little slump… it wasn’t the greatest of weeks. I was tired out, feeling “off”, not inspired, very lazy, etc.

Also, completely unrelated, I didn’t spend time reading the Bible or praying anything more than “help me/I want this” one sided prayers. Why? Oh, just cause. I didn’t think it through at the time or intentionally “take a break” but this was definitely my motivation: I want to be fine on my own. I can do it myself! When I need or want to, I will go to God’s Word, and it is of course a good thing, but… I want to be able to do just fine, or at least well enough, without it.

So mature of me, right? To be stubborn and overly-independent and “fine”. 😉

Then along came Thursday. I had that quiet time, time spent alone with God, listening to Him and being open to what He had for me in His Word. It wasn’t that long, nothing obviously profound, just a simple thing.

As the day went on, I was like, “Wow, this is finally a good day! I just feel so much more loving towards others.. able to be patient without it driving me crazy. I’m kind and gentle to my clients, having self-control without as much effort. I feel good! And joyful! And at peace with the world around me!”

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,  gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law.” -Galatians 5:22-23

“Oh….”

Leave a Reply

