Sustaining Joy

“The difference between shallow happiness and a deep, sustaining joy is sorrow. Happiness lives where sorrow is not. When sorrow arrives, happiness dies. It can’t stand pain. Joy, on the other hand, rises from sorrow and therefore can withstand all grief.

Joy, by the grace of God, is the transfiguration of suffering into endurance, and of endurance into character, and of character into hope– and the hope that has become our joy does not (as happiness must for those who depend on it) disappoint us.” -Walter Wangerin, Reliving the Passion

Thank You, God, for: 

  • cousins who aren’t “too cool” or too old to come running down the street for hugs when they see me drive up.
  • being able to cook a meal to enjoy with friends- vegetable soup, cornbread, & a really yummy salad.
  • a fun weekend with too much food, too much coffee, too little sleep, and a lot of just being with friends.. they help me enjoy life more. 🙂
  • that I don’t have to ignore reality in a chase after happiness… but that I can accept the facts of hard and terribly sad things, and even so be strong and steady in joy. Through Christ’s power at work in me.
  • the desire to be a little more disciplined and organized… me?? Yes.
  • quiet time with my nose in a book.

4 thoughts on “Sustaining Joy

  1. Love…love the quote…have copied it…oh yes…the connections of cousins…not matter how old one gets…blessings~

    • I love it too. Speaks to the realities of life, doesn’t it? And yes, I’ve been blessed with some pretty awesome cousins! Great to be a part of their growing up years. 🙂 ~Frances

    • Aw, thanks! Right now I am reading A Red Herring Without Mustard, it’s part of a mystery series starring an 11 year old girl who has a love of chemistry and a sarcastic sense of humor. I love mysteries! And this one was hard to put down. I’ve been trying to get back in the groove of reading more!
      ~Frances

Leave a Reply

