If: A Gift on Tuesday

If instead of a white Christmas,
you are looking at one still seeped in stormy night tears,
and there is more mess than anything;
if familiar traditions bring stifled pain instead of warm smiles,
and what once shielded you is broken,
if you are just trying to get through…

I understand. I want to remind you & I that it is OK to be real at Christmas. We don’t have to get it all right to celebrate this day. It may help to read this honest post from my brother, who has a rare and wonderful way with words:

Christmas had to cease being about family and tradition for me to be able to grasp for dear life the sweetest truth of Christmas: Christ left His home, His family, so that the children of a billion broken homes and bad situations–so that I–could have a hope and a peace beyond my condition. That is what truly makes the story of Christmas dear to me, and Priceless beyond all else.
Joe (read the rest of his post here) 

It also helps to remember what kind of Person came: Gentle, humble, encouraging, strong, desiring to come to where we are and bear our heavy loads.

He will not cry aloud or lift up his voice, or make it heard in the street;
a bruised reed he will not break, and a faintly burning wick he will not quench;
he will faithfully bring forth justice. -Isaiah 42:2-3 ESV

Praise be to the Lord, to God our Savior,
who daily bears our burdens. -Psalm 68:19 NIV

Linking up with chatting at the sky today as I unwrap the gift of brokenness a bit. Thanks for coming by! 

4 thoughts on “If: A Gift on Tuesday

    • Thanks for your kind words! Yep, didn’t he though?? He has always been gifted with words. Not too many brothers would write music and lyrics to a song, and sing it for me the night before I moved away to college.. special guy! ~Frances

    • Aww, why thank you! That’s so sweet. Well I in turn am glad I happened upon your place!! Lots of wonderful food for thought with your holiday ponderings, thanks for that. ~Frances

Leave a Reply

