In the Studio: Advent Journal Update

This week, I went through a stage of disliking all further additions to this project. Maybe because life has been a bit crazy and so when I did work on it, I was half asleep… it seemed that I could produce nothing but ugly wrinklyness. Frustrating! But I kept plugging away, listened to this song about 50 times because it’s been stuck in my head, and am now once again very happy with my Advent Journal!

(Click here to see the beginning stages and explanation of this journal.) 

I am using many more photographs than I thought I would, simply because I have had so much fun with them! I did several pages with phrases from Psalm 23 and John 10.. they definitely fit with my theme of Peace!

I introduced my roomie to the movie White Christmas last night, she had never seen it before! It was the most cozy way to end the day. And there was something fun about watching it on VHS.

Val and I went to a Cookie Swap together put on by our church, it was quite fun! And the exciting part was that I took a plate full of so-so sugar cookies, but returned with a large variety of delicious Christmas cookies!

I was mad at the picture of the berries for turning out blurry.. however, it looks perfect as part of the journal! I’ll take that.

Seeing the pictures of green and growing things now, in December when most things are brown and frozen, reminds me that I have been brought from death, over to life and peace. Hope in the midst of icy roads and busy schedules you & I can know His peace and rest in it!

But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which He loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ— by grace you have been saved. -Ephesians 3:4-5 ESV

StudioJRU

13 thoughts on “In the Studio: Advent Journal Update

  1. What a great idea–an Advent journal! I love it. And thank you for your sweet comment on my blog today. I feel like this Advent I’m in a season of “waiting” with my artwork too. And you’re right–seasons of “waiting” are just as important as seasons of “working.” Waiting for the miracle is so much better in the end than working unproductively trying to make something happen!

    • Thank you much! I definitely am enjoying the journaling this month. And yes, that is Joey the cowdog.. and he is just simply the cutest. He has mastered the art of being irresistable! 🙂 ~Frances

  2. I think it is a great project and will keep you focused this season! And how wonderful that you got great cookies in exchange for yours- I’m sure the people who ate yours thought it was great too!

    • It does keep me focused, that’s very true! And I hope you were right about the cookies. 🙂 thanks for coming by, hope you are having a great week! ~Frances

    • Wow, thank you! Yes, I definitely like having some music on in the background! 🙂 hope you are having a good week, your Christmas decoration photos are beautiful! ~Frances

  3. Pingback: Getting back In the Studio | Egg thoughts, etc.

Leave a Reply

