(Slightly Salty) Caramel Apple Crisp

So a while back I saw a salted caramel apple pie on food network. Also, Val and I made caramel banana french toast as a Sunday morning breakfast experiment, which was an exciting foray into things to do with caramel and left me wanting more.

Enter this apple crisp, comprised of a brave use of caramel and timid use of salt because, well, that idea just seemed a bit crazy to me. I didn’t think it would work out but I made myself use measurements and write them down anyway. Glad I did! It disappeared fast, and I will definitely make it again, possibly with a few tweaks. But as is, this apple crisp is lightly syrupy and gooey and sweet but not overly sweet because it’s a little salty. Amazing. 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Peel, core and slice 7ish apples. (I used a mix of granny smith and some other kind.. probably Gala or argyle ones. 😉 Ok not really.)

And then just throw them in a baking dish with a little splash of lemon juice and cinnamon (which I just kept generously sprinkling on at different stages. So just make it “to taste”!) Stir in 1 teaspoon flour, 2 teaspoons corn starch, and 1/2 cup sugar.


For the topping, mix together 4 teaspoons softened butter, 1 cup oats, 1/4 cup flour, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and more cinnamon. And then spread it evenly on top of the apples! Sprinkle on more salt. (I used about 4 or 5 twists coarsely ground salt.)

Bake for 30 or so minutes (until the apples are cooked). Now for the caramel. No pictures from this part because it happened too quickly! But don’t be afraid! So put 1/2 cup sugar in a small saucepan over medium heat. And just let it sit there. It’s like magic.

Try to hold back your urge to stir until it is all turned to liquid. Once it is a light brown syrup, remove from heat, stir and dramatically add 2 teaspoons cream or sour cream, which is all I had at the time and it worked fine. Stir it in quickly. Drizzle over the apple crisp. Don’t forget to turn off the oven (at this point you will be very distracted by how wonderful it smells and looks). Eat it. And enjoy!

Leave a Reply

