In the studio: Purposeful archaeology

(Currently undisclosed project that I am very excited about.)     

Also, I am excited about this: On Fridays I’ll be joining in to share what creative work I’ve been up to! I tend to take a stab at lots of random things for the fun of it, such as handmade cards, crafts, painting, crocheting, and scrapbooking. My favorites are things that I can give away that will encourage others.

Now, my “studio” is usually: a big corner of my upstairs room, on the living room floor in front of the TV (where I do the majority of hot glueing!), in the back yard (spray painting and anything else messy), or in my lap as I sometimes bring projects with me to my caregiver work to show my clients… they enjoy tracking my progress and are very encouraging!

This week I have finally begun a large, not-so-fun but very necessary project: re-organizing all my paper and supplies. Judging by the layers I have unearthed, it has been a very long time since I did this. My goal is to make my space more usable, to the point where I actually know where things are and can also easy put things away.

Those pictures make me cringe! But I’m making progress! It will be wonderful to do away with that “overwhelmed” feeling. I might have too much paper. 🙂

In the midst of that chaos, I did make a card and things to pass along some encouragement to a co-worker who is having surgery. I was a little brain-dead by that point but still enjoyed the process!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

StudioJRU

8 thoughts on “In the studio: Purposeful archaeology

  1. I am so happy to have you join us! I love to hear that you like to take a stab at lots of things… that is so much fun! My ‘studio’ moves around with my projects too. 🙂 Love that card you made. What a special gift of encouragement!

    • Aw, thank you! Heheh, and of course by “take a stab at lots of things” I mean that I am still figuring out what fits best for me.. and being a little overly adventurous at the same time. Oh well, it’s fun!

  2. Hey miss.
    It’s been a while since I stopped by your blog as Larry hijacked the laptop and I have a hard time being anchored to the pc. But tonight I got caught up and hafta say that your pictures are looking more and more amazing. Hope you have a wonderful weekend. Can’t wait to see you in a week!
    Holly

    • Ha, I know what you mean! I was thinking after reading your last post, maybe we could just make “chasing down elsa’s glasses” a game at the shower! 🙂 I am excited too, it will be fun!
      And thanks, I am definitely not a knowledgeable photographer type but I have been loving taking a few pretty pictures!
      See you in a week!

  3. I am passing through and eventually going to get caught up with the 31 days posts.
    Had to comment as I am in midst of TWO room recoveries, in different cities.
    My goal is to create studio space as I also “stab at” many creative endeavors, usually not following a pattern. Or tackling several at once.
    I am off now (sidetracked again) to check out Sneak Peek Friday In The Studio.
    Have you heard of What’s On Your Workdesk Wednesday? (WOWW) You would fit right in.

    • Oh thank you! Wow, definitely sounds like you have been busy! Phew! I can identify! Thanks a bunch for the comment and for coming back by. Hope you can feel more settled soon!
      ~Frances

Leave a Reply

