Day 30: Repeat?

image

Well I am straggling into this 30th day post much the same way I hurry in to church on most weeks… am I the only one or are Sunday mornings a little rough for everyone? 

Honestly, I don’t have a lot of brilliant things left to say about memorization! And I have a sneaking suspicion that whatever I would think of to type, I’ve already written about, earlier this month. I can be pretty repetitive.

Memory work can seem that way, too. I remember how I felt when I memorized 1 John, especially 1:9. It’s such a familiar verse, I already knew it and had heard it a hundred times before, so that it seemed just.. old news. Drained of any real impact.

And then… maybe the 65th or 39th or 45th time I said it…

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.

Oh. Wow!

I can tell you, that has happened many times. Probably because I am pretty thick-headed. As I said yesterday, the Bible is not like any other writing. It is limitless. It will be made new to you by God’s Spirit as you read and memorize it. It is living and active and always sharp (Hebrews 4:12). So worthwhile to put in my memory.

Leave a Reply

