Day 29: Caution!

image

Well today was more full of making memories than memorizing.. but I’m ok with that. 🙂 Family is a blessing, that is for sure.

I did try to say my whole chapter today, and made it really well until I got to about verse 20.. those last 5 verses still aren’t sticking. We’ll see how these last few days go.

As I think about this whole chunk of God’s Word that I have been rubbing into my mind and hopefully heart this month.. I think of a cautionary piece of memory advice. Something I did not necessarily realize in high school. Memorizing the Bible is not like learning a poem or quote or information for a test… it is a wonderful thing, but buckle up when you learn it, because it will change your life! It also places a greater responsibility on you. That sounds like a heavy burden- it’s not. Focus on response.

Thoughts like these help me:

I should stay with this, and let it dwell in me richly (Colossians 3:16).

I would be deceiving myself to let this go in one ear and out the other without doing what it says. What I am learning is perfect and gives me freedom, I should continue learning from it and not forget it (James 1:22-25).

This will make me grow and flourish! It is the Word of God, and it will not return to Him empty; it will accomplish His purpose (Isaiah 55:10-11).

Yes, purpose. I am not abandoned, overlooked, a failure, or useless… I have not already seen all the adventure there is for me. The Word, on the page and in my heart, encouraging me to hope. 

Leave a Reply

