Day 28: The good stuff

image

image

image

image

image

Tonight, my jaw is aching and my sides are hurting.. from laughing till I couldn’t breathe! After a dinner with some family, we all sat around and the stories rolled… three generations worth of hijinks. We are an accident prone and crazy lot, without much “stop and think this through-ness.”

My dad and uncle crashing a funeral… when the church they was supposed to be guest speakers at was across the street, or my cousin having to get the bumper on his car replaced twice in one week for 2 very different reasons… just for example. Game wardens, police, car wrecks, horse wrecks, all kinds of injuries… good stuff.

Spending time in one of Peter’s letters, as I’m doing this memory challenge.. I’m thinking about how he and the disciples weren’t some sort of perfect saints, they were brothers and people who knew each other forever, and can you imagine some of the stories they could tell??

I love nights like this, laughing and listening. To get around a dinner table, and clear the dishes and kick back, or around a campfire, and watch the coals and swap tales. By the end of every summer at camp, I swear my stomach muscles were in such good shape, from all the laughing.  

I have a hard time getting past my initial childhood idea of heaven as a big gold street… but as I am learning what it means that I have been called to belong to God’s family.. family.. perhaps my favorite sort of campfire, dinner table night is a little glimpse of what is coming up. It will be good, regardless.

You are my Lord… apart from You I have no good thing.
You have made known to me the path of life;
You will fill me with joy in your presence,
With eternal pleasures at Your right hand. (from Psalm 16)

(The pictures are from J and my frigid fishing adventure today.)

2 thoughts on “Day 28: The good stuff

  1. Those are some of my favorite times as well. And I love your ideas of what Heaven will be like – my thoughts always turn to family – to be surrounded by Love. It seems almost unimaginable.

    xoxo michele

Leave a Reply

