Day 27: In the swing of things

image

image

image

Today, some chilly time on Mamaw’s porch swing, watching the cars go by, very full from lunch and Great-Aunt Donna’s fried peach pies. Mmmm!

Going over my verses, kindof surprised by how well I know them. I almost didn’t do this thirty-one day challenge because of the kind of month I knew it would be: extra hours of work at one job since my boss was on vacation, extra challenging caregiver work as one dear client is transitioning to a nursing home, a big craft project I’m trying to finish by a deadline (I’ll share pictures when it’s done!), house guests, helping a friend move, a full weekend with my church’s missions conference, and now travelling.

But, my life is usually at least that full, and time and space will never magically materialize for me to do this… so I decided to go for it! And I am glad I did! I may be busy but I don’t want it to define me.

I have spent time on this front porch, swingin’ with Mamaw, since before I can remember. What kind of steps am I leaving for those who will follow me? What sets the rhythm of my life? 

“Tune your ears to wisdom, and concentrate on understanding.” (Proverbs 2:2)

Leave a Reply

