Day 22: Sisters

One of my favorite Bible memory moments ever happened a few years ago in Jamaica. A team of girls from the St. James school came to my quiz site during the National tournament (I was quizmaster; aka the person who runs the quiz and asks the questions).

As we waited for the other teams to show up, they asked me random silly questions like, “Miss, are you an American?” or “do you know Hannah Montana?” With lots of giggling. I wasn’t paying a lot of attention. And then in the midst of goofiness one little gal asked this one: “Miss, are we sisters in the sight of the Lord?” Wow where did that come from!

I sat there for a second.. wondering what to say.. and what should come to mind but something I had memorized like 4 years earlier. I said, “Well, let me show you what the Bible says about that, so you can KNOW it’s true!” I read them 1 John 3:1 (“How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are!..”) and explained what it meant, “So, if we have accepted Jesus as our Savior, we are God’s children, and so if we are all His children, that means yes, we are sisters!”

No one said anything for a moment. Then one girl in the middle looked at me and held out her arms to me for a hug. I hugged her, then the rest of the team, and then she wanted ANOTHER hug… so I hugged them all again!

Later I gave them cards with that verse on them. 🙂 So precious to hear the quizzers processing the messages from God’s Word in a personal way.

Moral of the story: the Scripture you memorize, putting it in your mind and heart, that will be what you recall countless times when you need wisdom, an encouraging word, a reminder of who God is, to call out “help!”.. whatever the situation may be.

One thought on “Day 22: Sisters

  1. Pingback: BRB | Egg thoughts, etc.

Leave a Reply

