Day 14: Training wheels

Remember this verse? The one I was struggling to learn on Day 12? The long and meandering one?

“It was revealed to them that they were not serving themselves but you, when they spoke of the things that have now been told you by those who have preached the gospel to you by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven. Even angels long to look into these things.” -1 Peter 1:12

Well I have a new best friend when it comes to memorization. Seriously, I love this thing! Definitely going to use it for the rest of this chapter. 

What is it again? It’s a converter tool that extracts the first letter of every word you put into it. So I copied my nemesis, 1 Peter 1:12, into the top box, clicked “convert”, and this was the result:

I w r t t t t w n s t b y, w t s o t t t h n b t y b t w h p t g t y b t H S s f h. E a l t l i t t.

Wow, amazing, a bunch of letters! 

Yeah, ok, but maybe a total of 10 or 15 minutes over 2 days spent with that line of letters, and that stubborn verse now comes rolling off my tongue! No problem!

This provides a way that I can prompt myself without having to look back at the actual verse. It felt like learning to ride a bike with training wheels: I’d say a few words, then start to lean- dangerously leaning here- forgetting, can’t stay with the verse- so I’d look at the prompting letters again for a little reminder of what was next- ahh! Good to go! Back on track. Like training wheels: you lean on them when you need them, then gradually you don’t need them anymore.

And then one day you find yourself not even needing handlebars anymore, and seeing how many times you can ride your bike around the block without touching them, like 20+ times around the same old block, no hands, and then when that was done you’d start over again and try to break your old record, and–

Hmmm… I had some very boring summers as a kid.

Leave a Reply

