Day 12: O o t d, w a s o s d, p*

It’s rainy. My hair is frizzy and weird. In the past two days, two beloved dogs of family/friends have had to be put down. I’m tired, and busy. And I am stuck on a verse.
This is what Day 12 looks like!

The verse that is getting me down (go ahead, try to say it even one time fast):

“It was revealed to them that they were not serving themselves but you, when they spoke of the things that have now been told you by those who have preached the gospel to you by the Holy Spirit sent from heaven. Even angels long to look into these things.” -1 Peter 1:12

It’s a mouthful! And so wordy… it will not stick in my memory. That whole 3 verse section is tough.

So today, I am trying a few new tricks. The first one comes from the speck of meaning I have been able to understand so far… how truly amazing it is that all of this is for us. Over and over: “but you, told you, to you.” So I separated out the verse, little by little, and printed it. Doesn’t it look like a poem? And less like a big clump of words?

And secondly, to address the gibberish at the bottom: no I did not fall asleep on the keyboard. Those are the first letters of every word in that verse. (The tool to do this is right here. All you have to do is copy and paste the verse, click “convert”, and there you go!) This provides a way that I can prompt myself without having to look back at the actual verse. A nice easy stepping stone between “No way can I learn this” and “Wow I can actually say it without looking, or crying in despair.” (I hope so, anyway!)

*This tool is also great for making a long title short and cryptic:
“One of those days, with a side of suppressed desperation, please.” 

5 thoughts on “Day 12: O o t d, w a s o s d, p*

    • Thank you! And thanks for stopping by! 🙂 I am thankful that my parents helped me memorize back when I was little.. just simple things, like Psalm 1, Psalm 23, Psalm 121, that were very foundational and comforting for me. We would just say them together, my mom would write them out with little pictures to go with the words. I still remember them, so young brains must be pretty great at memorization!

  1. Pingback: monday gifts | Egg thoughts, etc.

  2. Pingback: Lazy Girl Memorizes | Egg thoughts, etc.

  3. Pingback: monday gifts | Egg Thoughts

Leave a Reply

