Day 10: Looking & listening

Thankful for… 

2718. A delicious meal with Pav– sandwiches on homemade white bread, cucumbers with ranch, apples with cream cheese/brown sugar/cinnamon dip- picnic on the living room floor.

2730. An evening of worship. It was so wonderful. I just love how the kids of my church are free to dance, twirl, and jump. Seeing them always lifts my spirits and reminds me that I am also a child of God, and can come freely, as my Father loves to hear me praise.

2729. That this year I feel more awakened to every season and I believe it’s because of counting gifts.

2731. Your faithfulness is before me, Your hope surrounds me, Your love is all that I need.

2732. A refuge from the storm.

Today’s memory tip, as I continue with my 31-Days goal: Listen. The more ways that you can present the material to yourself, the better. So I used this website today to listen to 1 Peter 1 several times. It takes just a few minutes, and I liked that I could just listen on the website and didn’t have to download anything. Once again- easy, quick, highly profitable. It is easier than you think to memorize something, I promise! (I was a doubter once too, remember?)

It throws off my brain, since I am used to my own way of saying the verses and my own weird pronunciations of the town names (Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia and Bithynia). I don’t plan to change my ways, either, haha. But listening helps to embed the verses just one more layer deeper in my memory.

11 thoughts on “Day 10: Looking & listening

  1. Beautiful list, beautiful photos. A picnic on the living room floor sounds like so much fun… and yours sounds delicious! Feeling more awakened to every season because of counting gifts… I couldn’t agree more. I am always looking for those little special details! 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I know, I love details too. 🙂 The small things tend to get passed by if I’m not looking for them!

  2. I totally agree that counting the gifts helps you appreciate the seasons more. I have been counting for almost a year now and have seen more peace and perspective through the seasons. And you are pushing 3000, too! Praise God!

    • Yeah, it wasn’t something that I expected either! And I don’t set out to think, “Ok, how have I changed because of gratitude, keeping this list?” I usually just slowly notice that something is definitely different about me.. and then realize, wow, that is why! Which is pretty cool.
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. #2731 made me think of this verse: “For surely, O LORD, You bless the righteous, you surround them with Your favor as with a shield.”
    ~Psalm 5:12

    That is what you are surrounded by! How could we not have hope? : )

    breath-taking pictures! I love our Artistic God… seems you have a flare of that part of His character!

  4. I just realized that because you have a wordpress account that it automatically sent my comment to you from my husband’s account… this is Elise from Redeeming the Days… blessings, friend! : )

  5. Thanks for stopping by my place yesterday! Love your gratitude list and your photos are beautiful! Thanks, too, for sharing about listening and memorizing Scripture!

  6. Pingback: Lazy Girl Memorizes | Egg thoughts, etc.

Leave a Reply

