Day 6: The Top 5

Sure, this would have made more sense to write on day 5. But I liked yesterday a lot despite that. Moving on!

There are quite a few contenders for “favorite chapter I’ve ever memorized.” And, since I’m indecisive and I’m the one making the rules here, I’m not going to narrow it down any more than this! In no particular order, my top 5:

Matthew 6: All-around good. I would love to go back and memorize the rest of the sermon on the mount sometime.

Matthew 23: Most fun to say out loud. This is the chapter where Jesus basically goes off on the Pharisees. As brother J might say, “Bamtastic.” So many exclamation points! You can just feel the passion coming off the words.. right up to the last few verses, when He turns to His longing that the people would be willing to let Him gather them close and restore them. Verse 23 was always fun- I loved saying the spices: “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You give a tenth of your spices—mint, dill and cummin. But you have neglected the more important matters of the law—justice, mercy and faithfulness. You should have practiced the latter, without neglecting the former.”

1 John 3: This one? Strong, bold, rich, so fun to speak out loud.

John 13: A vivid look into the relationships of Jesus and the disciples during the last hours before His death. It was special for me to memorize. The simple ways that Jesus shows His love, and the beautiful words He says.. the emotions are right there.

Hebrews 12: Most returned to. When I was quizzing, I was not assigned this chapter, but I memorized it extra before nationals that year because I had heard a lot of other people quote from it and knew I needed to know it. Like, to really know it. It is a beautiful thing to memorize and to speak as a reminder and encouragement to your heart.

The chapter I am trying to learn this month, 1 Peter 1, is similar to this last one. I’m excited to finally be memorizing it. Or trying to, at least!

2 thoughts on “Day 6: The Top 5

  1. I love your 31 day topic. 🙂 Thanks for commenting on my blog as well! I have been working on memorizing Colossians chapter 3, but it is a bit slow going!! I’m getting old ya know!! 🙂

    • Ooh! I love Colossians 3! I memorized verses 12-17 for a scripture reading in the wedding of some friends a few years ago! But yes, I totally know what you mean about slow going!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

